TL;DR
Get decor and gifts delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Shelly announced the Presence Gen4, a camera-free mmWave radar sensor that the company says can track up to 10 people at once. It is available through Shelly’s online store for $84.99 and supports several smart-home platforms and connection standards.
Shelly has announced the Presence Gen4, a smart-home sensor that uses mmWave radar instead of a camera to detect people, movement and activity, with capacity to track up to 10 people at once, according to the company. The device is available for $84.99 through Shelly’s online store and is designed to trigger automations such as lights, heating or music when people enter or leave a space.
The Presence Gen4 can sit on a shelf or table using its built-in stand, or be mounted on a wall. Shelly’s product specifications, as reported by The Verge, give it a 140-degree horizontal field of view and coverage of spaces up to 650 square feet. The sensor connects to power through a USB-C cable, so it needs access to an outlet or another suitable power source.
Users can configure up to 10 independently customizable detection zones. That could let an automation respond to someone sitting at a desk or on a sofa, rather than activating whenever anyone enters the broader room. The report says users can include pets in detection or adjust sensitivity to ignore objects close to the floor, such as a robot vacuum.
The device is listed as compatible with Google Home, Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and Home Assistant. Its supported connectivity includes Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee and Matter. Shelly said the sensor was available through its own online store, with availability at retailers including Amazon and Best Buy expected later.
Room-Level Automation Without Video
The product offers a way to trigger smart-home routines based on presence without relying on a camera feed. For households that prefer not to place cameras in shared or private rooms, radar-based detection may provide another option for occupancy-based lighting, climate control and other routines. The absence of a camera does not, by itself, establish how the sensor processes or stores all data, so buyers may still want to review Shelly’s privacy information.
The advertised ability to track multiple people and define separate zones could also make room automation more targeted than a simple motion sensor. A light could respond to occupancy at a work area, for example, while a separate routine responds to people settling into a home theater. Those are possible uses described in the report, not independently tested results.
Compatibility across several major platforms and standards may make the sensor relevant to people with existing smart-home systems. However, the source does not detail whether every feature works identically across all platforms or whether setup and integrations require additional configuration.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Shelly’s Expanding Smart-Home Line
The Presence Gen4 announcement follows Shelly’s launch of a $50 subscription-free security camera the previous month, according to The Verge. The two products take different approaches: the new sensor is intended to detect presence and activity without recording people on video, while the earlier product is a camera.
Presence sensors are used to make automations depend on whether a space is occupied, rather than on a timer or a brief motion event. Shelly’s report describes the Gen4 as using mmWave radar and offering configurable zones, sensitivity controls and pet detection. The supplied source does not provide independent testing or comparisons with competing sensors.
“The Presence Gen4 can detect up to 10 people simultaneously using mmWave radar rather than a camera.”
— Shelly, as reported by The Verge
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Performance and Privacy Details
The available report does not establish how reliably the sensor identifies or counts up to 10 people in different room layouts, or how performance changes with obstacles, distance or movement. It also does not include independent testing of the stated 650-square-foot coverage or the detection zones.
Although the sensor uses no camera, the source does not explain in detail what information it processes, whether occupancy data is stored, or how data is handled across connected services. The report also does not give a specific date for availability through Amazon, Best Buy or other retailers, or clarify whether all listed smart-home integrations support every feature.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retail Availability and Testing
Shelly’s online store is the confirmed point of sale in the report, at a listed price of $84.99. Availability through Amazon, Best Buy and other retailers is expected, but no dates were provided. The company’s product information and retailer listings should clarify regional availability, installation requirements and any platform-specific limitations as they appear.
Independent reviews and hands-on testing will be needed to evaluate the sensor’s detection accuracy, multi-person tracking, pet handling and performance across its advertised coverage area. Buyers considering it for privacy-sensitive rooms may also want to check Shelly’s current documentation on data processing and integrations before connecting it to a smart-home platform.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What does the Shelly Presence Gen4 do?
It uses mmWave radar to detect presence, movement and activity, then can trigger smart-home routines such as turning lights or heating on or off.
Does the Presence Gen4 use a camera?
No camera is used for its reported presence detection. The sensor relies on radar, though the supplied report does not give full details about data processing or storage.
How many people can it detect at once?
Shelly says the sensor can detect up to 10 people simultaneously. The source report does not include independent tests of that claim.
How much does it cost and where can I buy it?
The reported price is $84.99 through Shelly’s online store. Amazon and Best Buy availability is expected, but a retailer launch date was not stated.
Which smart-home systems and connections does it support?
The report lists Google Home, Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and Home Assistant, alongside Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee and Matter. It does not specify whether all features work in the same way on every platform.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
